Home SPORTS  Prof. Baiden, Felicity Retain GCB Golf Titles

Prof. Baiden, Felicity Retain GCB Golf Titles

by admin


Prof. Baiden and Felicity Okyei Gyeabour displaying their trophies

Head of Operations at the Royal Golf Club, Kumasi (RGCK), Prof. B.K Baiden, and Mrs. Felicity Okyei Gyeabour successfully defended their trophies for 2019 in the men and ladies’ categories.

the end of year event of the Royal Golf Club, Kumasi, the pair were once again
crowned at the awards dinner held at the club house.

the men’s category, Prof. Baiden accumulated 108 points from 19 handicap,
qualifying competitions to narrowly push Daniel Ntim to second position, who
had 107 points from 16 competitions.

Prempeh, winner of the 2019 Latex Foam Monthly Medal League, came 3rd with 85
points from 14 competitions. 

winners were given commensurate amounts of RGCK cash vouchers usable at the
club for course user fee and products at the bar. Mrs. Okyei accumulated 236
pts from 18 competitions to win the ladies’ section for the second successive

was followed by Christabel Oppong, who had a total of 116 points from nine competitions.
Juddy Gyimah Bota took the third and final position for the ladies with 111 pts
from 11 competitions. Winners present were similarly given RGCK cash vouchers
for use at the bar and for golf. Explaining the league system, which is in the
second year of sponsorship from GCB Bank, Mark Asiamah, the RGCK competition secretary,
indicated that points were awarded to golfers in all handicap qualifying events
(a total of 24) who finished within the first 12 positions.

golfer with the highest accumulated points was crowned as winner. He further stated
that a number of games such as greensome, foursome, partners and similar
handicap non-qualifying events were excluded in the computation. In the main
event of the day, MC Classic 2019, Charles Agyei Boateng of Sinapi Aba,
returned an impressive score of 66 net to win the 2019 Captain’s Prize.

also returned 42 points in the stableford computation to emerge the winner of
the President Putter competition for 2019.

Awuni emerged the winner of the 2019 Lady Captain’s Prize after returning a net
score of 71. Martin Poku, a former captain of the club, won the seniors’ event
after grueling and hotly contested round of 18 holes. In the opening remarks at
the awards ceremony, Mr. Kwasi Attah-Antwi, chairman of the management committee
of the club, recounted some of the successes chalked up by the current
administration and thanked all who patronised the club for their immense
support and contribution to the development of the club.

Baiden thanked GCB Bank for their continued sponsorship of the league. He was
hopeful that the mileage and popularity gained by the bank through the
sponsorship will encourage them to continue.

Baiden used the occasion to encourage golfers to do more business with GCB Bank
so that they will see the direct benefit of their sponsorship.

From The Sports Desk  



You may also like