Thirty-two New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary aspirants have filed their nominations for the 12 orphan constituencies in the Upper East Region.

Out of that number, six sitting District Chief Executives (DCEs) have filed their papers to contest the parliamentary primaries slated for September 28, 2019.

The Upper East Regional Research and Elections Officer of the NPP, Alhaji Amadu Mogtar, who made this known to the Daily Graphic in Bolgatanga last Sunday, further mentioned the names of the DCEs as Reverend Emmanuel Abole for the Bolgatanga East District, Mr Joseph Amiyuure Atura for the Bolgatanga Municipality, Mr Peter Ayinbisa for Bongo District, Mr Emmanuel Asokore Avoka for the Garu District, Mr Zubeiru Abdulai for the Pusiga District and Mr Daniel Gariba for the Builsa South District.


According to Alhaji Mogtar, the breakdown for the constituencies regarding the number of aspirants that have filed are as follows: Pusiga-2, Bawku Central-3, Builsa South-2, Bolgatanga East-3, Garu-2, Bongo-2, Bolgatanga Central-3, Talensi-4, Nabdam-3, Builsa North-2, Chiana-Paga-3, and Binduri-3.

Bolga East DCE

The Bolgatanga East District Chief Executive, Reverend Emmanuel Abole, who has also filed his papers at the NPP party’s constituency office at Zuarungu, said in an interview after filing his nomination that he had the interest to contest the parliamentary seat since 2008.

“I have remained resolute and inspiring to my party although I failed in two attempts to lead the party in my constituency” he noted.

According to him, he has a track record when it comes to development of the district and the constituency for that matter.

Source link