Akufo-Addo Goes On Leave

President Nana Akufo-Addo

The President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, is
expected to commence his annual leave on Thursday.

A statement from the presidency signed by
Eugene Arhin, Director of Communications, said the President, who is currently
in France to begin a three-day official visit at the invitation of French
President Emmanuel Macron, would leave that country on Thursday, July 11.

President Akufo-Addo left Ghana last Saturday
to attend the 12th Extraordinary Session of the Assembly of the Africa Union
(AU) held in Niamey, the capital of Niger.

The AU used the summit to officially launch the
operational phase of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), after it
achieved maturity on 30th May, 2019, when the 22nd member-state deposited its
instrument of ratification at the AU Commission headquarters in Addis Ababa,

The Union then settled on Ghana as the host
country for the Secretariat of the AfCFTA after beating competition from countries
such as Egypt, Ethiopia, Eswatini, Kenya, Senegal and Madagascar.

According to the communication from the
presidency, the President’s leave of absence takes effect from Thursday, July
11, 2019 to July 18, 2018, when he is expected back home in Ghana to resume
official duties.

The statement said while in France, President
Akufo-Addo is expected to meet members of the Ghanaian community in that
country and deliver an address at the France-Ghana Business Forum.

He is later scheduled to visit the Port of
Marseille and hold meetings with French multinational companies such as Total
and SociétéGénérale.

The President, according to the statement, was
accompanied by the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration,
Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey; Minister for Trade and Industry, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen;
Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana Investment Promotion Centre, Yofi Grant;
and officials from the presidency and foreign ministry.

Vice-President Bawumia is expected to act as President in his absence in accordance with Article 60(8) of the Constitution.

By Charles Takyi-Boadu, Presidential Correspondent

Source link