Ashanti NPP To Sponsor 3 MDCEs In 2020 Parliamentary Race

Bernard Antwi-Boasiako aka WontumiNPP Ashanti Regional Chairman

The Regional Executive Committee (REC) of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) has declared that the three Orphan Constituencies in the region shall sponsor the candidatures of two MCEs and a DCE in the 2020 Parliamentary elections.

They include Alidu Seidu, MCE-Asokore Mampong, Salisu Bamba, MCE – Ejura Sekyeredumasi and Joseph Owusu, DCE – Sekyere Afram Plains as sole candidates for the Asawasi, Ejura Sekyeredumasi and Sekyere Afram Plains respectively.

Nominations for the NPP’s parliamentary primaries in orphan constituencies opened recently.

Orphan constituencies are those in which the NPP has no sitting Member of Parliament either because the constituency is new or the Parliamentary seat is being occupied by a member of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).

DGN Online understands that the decision was taken at a meeting of the Regional Executive Committee of the party held on Monday, 29th July, 2019.

According to a statement signed by the Ashanti Regional Secretary of the NPP,
Samuel Pyne, the action was in line with the party’s strategy to annex the three constituencies.

It said “the party is resolved to make sure that, all other actions are in tune with Article 12,(I) of the party’s constitution and all party members are enjoined to abide by this resolution.”

The statement added that “Party members who flout this directive shall be sanctioned according to the rules and regulations of the party’s constitution.”

BY Melvin Tarlue

Source link