The Chief Executive of Ghana Cocoa Board, Joseph Boahen Aidoo and two others have been shortlisted to receive the ultimate award in the maiden Ghana Cocoa Awards instituted to celebrate outstanding achievement in the cocoa sector.

Mr Aidoo is competing with the MP for Twifo Atti Morkwa, Abraham Dwuma Odoom and the Regional Director of Solidaridad West Africa, Isaac Gyamfi, for the Tetteh Quarshie Cocoa Personality award, which is the topmost.

Finalists for the various competitive categories of the awards were announced by the organisers, VC Media, on Wednesday.

The finalists were selected after a careful evaluation of over 161 entries received from individuals, companies and institutions operating within the Ghana cocoa value chain.

“The Ghana Cocoa Awards Jury is presently working around the clock to deliver the ultimate winners for all categories to be announced only at the Awards Gala Night” scheduled for November 22 in Accra, statement issued by Founder of the awards, Kojo Hayford, said.

Aside the about 30 competitive categories, some six organisations and individuals will also receive special awards on the night for “their stellar contribution to the premium Ghana cocoa brand”.

“We recognise by this initiative that it is the hard work and dedication of the Ghanaian cocoa farmer working in concert with industry that delivers the peerless world acclaimed premium quality Ghana Cocoa, hence this initiative to honour them,” Mr Hayford said.

Full list below

Ghana Cocoa Awards 2019 Finalists

1. Most Formalised Cocoa Cooperative of the Year

o Ko Eyele Cooperative Cocoa Farmers

o Kukuom Agl Cooperative Cocoa Farmers

o Bia West Cooperative Cococa Farmers

o Asunafo North Cocoa Cooperative

o Cocoa Abrabopa Association

2. Cocoa Sustainability Literacy Award (Essay Contest)

• Lois Osei-Sekyere

Aburi Girls’ SHS

• Julliet Donkoh

Breman Asikuma SHS

• Patrick Elorm Ameevor

Mfantsipim School

3. Cocoa Reporting Journalist of the Year

• Ina-Thalia Quansah

Joy News

• Edward Adjei Frimpong

Business & Financial Times

• Maxwell Akalaare Adombila

Daily Graphic

• Justice Baidoo

Joy News

• Edward Amporful


4. Licensed Buying Company of the Year

• Agroecom Ghana Ltd

• Nyonkopa Cocoa Buying Company

5. Best Haulier of the Year

o Amp Logistics Ghana Ltd

o Kiteko Ghana Ltd

6. Agro Input of the Year – Fertilizer

• Yara

• Omnifert

• Begreen Organic

7. Agro Input of the Year – Chemicals

• Rmg Ghana Ltd

• Rockstar (Crop Doctor Ghana Ltd

8. Agro Input of the Year – Farm Implement

• Cocoa Aboye

• Sharp Power 4t (Crop Doctor Ghana Ltd)

9. Tertiary Cocoa Processing Company of the Year

• Niche Cocoa Industry Ltd

• Cocoa Processing Company Ltd

10. Artisanal Cocoa Processing Company

• Decokraft Ltd

• Mi-Cocoa (Ohene Cocoa)

11. Chocolate Brand of the Year (Large Scale)

• Niche Chocolate

• Golden Tree

12. Chocolate Brand of the Year (Artisanal)

• Decokraft Chocolate

Decokraft Ltd

• Boss Baker Chocolate Cookie

Daily Food Ltd

• Adansi Bar

Adansi Sweet Company

13. Cocoa Beverage Product of the Year

• Goldcoast Natural Cocoa Powder

• Royale Natural Cocoa Powder

• Koa Cocoa Juice

Taste Cocoa Ghana

• Cocoa Fruit Juice

Volta Winery

• Alltime Cocoa Drink


14. Cocoa Cosmetics Product of the Year

• Beauty Secrets

Solutions Oasis Ltd

• Cocoa Research Institute Of Ghana (CRIG)

15. Most Innovative Cocoa Product of the Year

• Adansi Bar

• Koa Cocoa Juice

• Cocoa Wine (Volta Winery)

• Ohene Cocoa Ecotourism

16. Packaging Innovation of the Year

• Goldcoast Natural Cocoa Powder

• Boss Baker Chocolate Cookie

• Ohene Cocoa Premium Cocoa Nibs

• Cocoa Wine (Volta Winery)

• Niche Chocolate

17. Community Energy Innovation of the Year

o Zola (Zegha Energy Ltd)

o Nyonkopa Cocoa Buying Ltd

18. Research & Development Project of the Year

• Michael Hinneh

Ghent University, Belgium

• Cocoa Research Institute Of Ghana (CRIG)

• Sharp Power 4t (Crop Doctor)

19. Technology For Cocoa Value Chain of the Year

• Farmlogics Technologies Pvt Ltd

• Taste Cocoa Ghana

• Empower (Ecom Ghana)

• Cocoa Aboye

20. Cocoa Consumption Promotion Ambassador

• Nana Aduna Ii

Ceo, Mi-Cocoa (Ohene Cocoa)

• Dr Edward Amporful

Chief Pharmacist, Cocoa Clinic (Cocobod)

• Joseph Boahen Aidoo

Chief Executive, Ghana Cocoa Board

21. Cocoa Ngo of the Year

• Cocoa360

• Solidaridad West Africa

22. Cocoa Sustainability Initiative of the Year

o Fairtrade Africa

o Maso Youth Programme

o Otumfo Agroecom Mobile Learning Project

o Nyonkopa Cocoa Buying

o Cocoa Life (Mondelez)

23. Sustainability Personality of the Year

• Yaa Peprah Amekudzi

Country Lead, Cocoa Life (Mondelez)

• Isaac Gyamfi

Regional Director, Solidaridad West Africa

• Olga Gormalova

Head Of Projects, Agroecom Ghana Ltd

24. Cocoa Entrepreneur of the Year

• Michael Zormelo

Ceo, Omnifert Ltd

• Akua Obenewaa Donkor

Ceo, Decokraft Limited

• Nana Aduna Ii

Ceo, Mi-Cocoa (Ohene Cocoa)

• Harrison Paul Adjimah

Founder, Volta Winery

• Edmund Poku

Ceo, Niche Cocoa Industry Ltd

25. The Tetteh Quarshie Cocoa Personality

• Abraham Dwuma Odoom

Mp, Twifo Atti Morkwa Constituency (CR)

• Isaac Gyamfi

Regional Director, Solidaridad West Africa

• Joseph Boahen Aidoo

Chief Executive, Ghana Cocoa Board