Members of the new Governing Council

A 17-member Governing Council on Thursday was inaugurated for the running of the University of Education, Winneba (UEW) following the expiration of the old council’s tenure.

The 17-member Governing Council, chaired by Prof Obeng Mireku, consists of four government appointees, the Vice Chancellor of UEW, Rev Prof Afful-Broni and two representatives of Ghana Education Service including the Director-General, Prof Kwasi Opoku-Amankwa.

UEW council board

Addressing the members of the new Governing Council after the inauguration, Minister for Education, Dr Mathew Opoku-Prempeh charged the members to ensure the sustainability of peace and stability in the school following recent chaos that broke out.

ALSO: Audio: Claims I am NPP mole was cooked up to destroy me – Muntaka’s contender

“You are all aware of the fact that for some time now, the UEW has been making the news headlines for all the reasons but education. This inevitably cast the university in a negative light and is not good for the reputation of UEW,” he said.

ALSO: I will gladly accept running mate position – Asiedu Nketia

“You, therefore, have a huge train of issues to contend with in your assumption of office today. I charge you to take urgent steps to ensure peace and stability returns to UEW campus,” he urged.

ALSO: South Africa shuts embassy in Nigeria after reprisal attacks

Chairman of the Governing Council, Professor Obeng Mireku, accepting the mandate on behalf of the members, pledged their allegiance to make UEW a better place.

UEW has been in the news over the past months due to series of disagreements coupled with attempts by its former Vice Chancellor, Prof Mawutor Avoke to return to office after he was removed.