The National Democratic Congress (NDC) successfully held its parliamentary primaries in 24 constituencies without any problems and surprises.

The only surprise was at Manso Nkwanta when a minor, Alhaji Ousman, beat a former District Chief Executive for the area, Mr Alex Bonsu, to represent the party at next year’s parliamentary polls, reports Daniel Kenu.
Alhaji Ousman won with 509 votes as against Mr Bonsu’s 225, while Mr Michael Afranie had 55 votes.

Get Digital Versions of Graphic Publications by downloading
Graphic NewsPlus Here. Also available in the Google Play Store and Apple App Store

Prior to the elections, Mr Bonsu was highly favoured to pick the slot following his sterling performance against the incumbent New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament (MP) for the area, Mr Joseph Albert Quarm, in the 2016 parliamentary elections, although he lost.

At the Mampong Constituency, Frank Amoakohene won with ease, polling 315 votes, while Mohammed Fatima Bintah and Mohammed Kojo Aboasu had 251 and 294 votes, respectively.

Mr Stephen Yeboah picked the ticket for Atwima Mponua with 776 votes, followed by Oforiwaa Sakina, 542, and Yahya Abubakar Sadiq, 29.

At the Asokwa Constituency, Amoh Kamel won with 544 votes while his fellow contestants, Amwal Ahmed Sadat had 308, and Dorcas Dufie Osei Bonsu, had 34.

In a two-horse race in the Fomena Constituency, Ms Christiana Ama Ranson Balabu blew away her male counterpart, Robert Owusu Tilton, with 304 as against 155 obtained by Mr Owusu.


Today’s Ghana news headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page
Ghana news page

In the Essikado-Ketan Constituency in the Western Region, a surgeon, Dr Grace Ayensu-Dankwa was elected by the delegates to lead the party as its parliamentary candidate in the 2020 general election.

She polled 594 votes of the 677 valid total votes cast, while Victor Henry Abbey Hearts, her contender, lost with 80 votes.

Awutu Senya East

A private legal practitioner, Philis Naa Koryoo, won the parliamentary primaries with 505 votes against her closest contender, Alex Agbesi Aborgeh’s 251.

The other contenders for the parliamentary primaries were Kwaku Kangah Kesse who polled 199, Daniel Awer who polled 74 votes and Perez Laryea who got only six votes.

Haruna Tetteh and Ebenezer Ofosu Yalley polled 98 and 30 votes, respectively.


An ex-detective, John Evans Ayerakwa-Kumordzi, was acclaimed to represent the party in the Okere Constituency in the Eastern Region after his two challengers stepped down.

The 35-year-old ex police officer who was with the Akropong District Command resigned from the Ghana Police Service in February this year to contest the parliamentary primaries .


The aspirants for Manhyia North, Hamza Swallah; Manhyia South, Suleyman Abubakar; Nhyiaeso, Richard Prah; Suame, Francis Dodovi, and Odotobiri, Emmanuel Obeng-Agyemang, all in the Ashanti Region, went unopposed.

In the Eastern Region, aspirants for New Juaben South, Martin O. Ofei; Okere, Joshua Evans Ayerakwa-Kumordzi; Akuapem South, Winston Kwadwo Afari-Djan, and Achiase, Dr Kwasi Akyem Apea-Kubi, also went unopposed.

Source link