A former Deputy Volta Regional Minister, Mr Henry Ametefee, has been elected as the Volta Regional Chairman of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Mr Ametefee polled 310 votes out of the total of 603 votes to secure his victory.

In a speech after he had been sworn in, the new chairman said his victory was a victory for the youth and called on them to come on board to win power for the NDC.

Mr Ametefee, who said he had been in politics for the past 40 years, indicated that he was going to use the new platform to demonstrate his love for the party by working hard to win power in the 2020 election.

The successful regional election of the party, he said, had drawn the battle line between the NDC and the New Patriotic Party (NPP), stating that “the region is now solid and I can assure you of victory.”


He called on the youth to disband any social media movement that divided the party instead of uniting it and asked them to learn from his dedication to the party that had earned him his current position.

The election, which took place at the Veterans Association of Ghana (VAG) Hall in Ho, saw a total of 13 candidates who contested for the four vacant regional positions due to the creation of new regions.

The positions were Regional Chairman, Vice Chairman, Deputy Women’s Organiser, and Deputy Youth Organiser.


The chairman position became vacant following the movement of the former regional chairman, Mr John Kwadwo Gyapong, to the Oti Region as its Regional Chairman.

The chairman position was contested by two former deputy regional ministers, Mr Henry Ametefee, Mr Francis Ganyaglo and a party activist, Mr Frank Afriyie.

The elected regional chairman’s close contender, Mr Francis Afriyie, polled a shocker of 274 votes while Mr Francis Ganyaglo got 19 votes.

Similarly, five people contested for the vice position for which a lawyer, Mr George Loh, emerged winner with 324 votes to become the first vice while Mr George Dake also polled 146 to become the second vice.

Other contestants

Other contestants for the vice position included Mr Kofi Lawson, former DCE of Ketu North, Mr Bubey Dzinadu and Mr Edwin W. K. Aklorbortu.

The deputy women’s organiser position was won by Madam Aku Shika Kpene Ansah and the deputy youth organiser position was won by Mr Angelo Norkpilim Agbodzie.

The new Deputy Regional Women Organiser, Madam Kay Shika, disclosed to the Daily Graphic that she was going to augment the effort of the executive by bringing more women on board to work for the party.

No euphoria

The normal euphoria that characterises NDC elections in the Volta Region was, however, missing due to the fact that it was not a major congress as members from 18 constituencies only arrived at the polling centre to cast their vote without any ceremony or speeches before voting.

Newly elected executive for the Oti Region are Vice Chairman, Francis Kofi Kpebu, Organiser, Lemboe Gabriel,  Communications Officer, Mobarak Abdul Karim, Deputy Secretary, Yakuby Gado Ninsaw, Deputy Treasurer, Abdul Anas Anakwa, Women Organiser, Joyce Yam Osei.
Others are Women Organisers: Sahadatu Muntari and Abdulai Esther, Deputy Youth Organisers: Wisdom Uwumborkan and Cletus Eklu, and Zongo Caucus Coordinator, Musah Mohammed.

There was a tie with that of the Secretary position as the two candidates, Edem Nixon Gidusu and Dennis Ofori Asiedu each had 122 votes.


Mr Afriyie, who lost the chairmanship, speaking on behalf of the defeated aspirants, said the maturity which was exhibited during the congress proved that the NDC had taken a great step towards attaining its aim of taking back power.

He gave an assurance that despite his loss, he was going to mobilise the members in the region to build a united front.
‘We are a family and we have become even stronger by this contest,” he stressed.

Source link